Working It Out

This past week, I’ve learned about the importance of open communication in an office environment as I spoke with my supervisor about my progress and to get feedback on my work and had lunch with another staff person.  I really appreciated them talking to me about things I could improve on rather than talking about it to someone else or complaining. Now that I am aware, I am definitely working on it!  In order for the office to work well together we need this open communication so we don’t anger each other every time we do something. Not only does it make everyone happier, but it makes the team more effective.

I have also noticed that a lot of people in the office are needed to work on one event. Speech writing, logistics, press releases, photos, etc. all need to be figured out. Basically, this means communication is vital among staffers as well as outside contacts. Everyone needs to keep informed about the progress of event-planning so we know how to handle questions and who the contact person is.

In addition to learning about working on communications among the staff, I titled this post “Working It Out” because I have started training for the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer.  I will be walking 39.3 miles October  23-24 in Charlotte. I am super excited to push my myself physically and mentally to make a difference in the fight against breast cancer. I will continue training and raising money (minimum $1,800 required) throughout the summer and early fall. You can learn more at my personal page here.  After the Avon Walk, I have decided to train for the Disney Princess Half Marathon (February 25-27, 2011) – check back for more details about this later!

I can’t believe how fast the summer is flying by! I only have about a  month left at my internship and soon I’ll be returning to Elon!

Leave a Reply

