Simplifying Service

As a member of World Vision ACT:S Leadership Council, I recently posted a blog describing my journey about volunteering for the Lord.

You can see it here

Simplifying Service

The day after I graduated from high school, I packed my bags and went to Russia.

It was a big leap, but the truth is that service has defined my life. Spending a month working with orphans in Russia through Global Expeditions was just the logical next step—and it was unlike anything I had ever experienced. I witnessed the power of prayer; I persevered in overcoming obstacles to show the love of Christ.

Even as far back as sixth grade, I had always been into service. When I eventually started college at Elon University, I automatically joined the Service Learning Community, doing projects several times a month. I joined the service team of my intervarsity chapter. As a sophomore I lead the SLC for the new freshmen. I found a great group of friends, but there was a dilemma: I was not actually enjoying the service aspect.

Volunteering had always been something I’d done, so I figured it was something I was supposed to continue in college. But in continuing service almost as a default activity, I had grown bored. I realized I was missing the point of volunteering.

Thinking back to why I had originally started volunteering, all those years ago, I was able to reduce it back to its simplicity: it was out of love that I wanted to serve. It was because I could show the love of Jesus to people that did not know Him. As Mother Teresa once said, “Love cannot remain by itself—it has no meaning. Love has to be put into action, and that action is service.”

With my head back around what I was doing, I decided to tackle a new project. This time, I chose to work with my youth group as a counselor for the middle school students. Preparing and chaperoning their mission trip to Wilmington, NC reignited my love for service. I saw Jesus is every face that we served.

Later, I found myself working with an organization called Stop Child Trafficking Now in New York City. I became passionate about this global human rights issue, but I didn’t know what I could do about it once I came home.

Then came the time for Urbana ’09, Intervarsity’s international missions conference, in December of my junior year. There, I finally realized how my passions and my major can be used for the love of God. As a communications major, I love to write and read and spread the word on social issues. At Urbana, I took part in the advocacy track—this is my calling. I want to inspire others and get the word out across my campus and the U.S. about issues that matter.

1 Corinthians 12:4-6 says, “There are different kinds of gifts, but the same Spirit. There are different kinds of service, but the same Lord. There are different kinds of working, but the same God works all of them in all men.”

I am still learning how to use my gifts, but I’m excited to be a part of something so much bigger than myself with World Vision ACT:S. My goal is to get my Intervarsity chapter passionate about serving and acting as the hands and feet of Christ not only in our local community, but also on a global scale.

Leave a Reply

