Senior year has officially started

This fall I am taking Strategic Campaigns, Corporate Publishing and Intro to Fine Arts. In addition, I will be interning twice a week at a PR agency in Greensboro  as well as my other extracurricular activities like Methodist Fellowship,  and interning in the Truitt Center for Religious and Spiritual Life at Elon.

Strategic Campaigns – where we form teams and work with Alamance Regional Medical Center to put together an entire public relations campaign and then at the end of the semester we will compete against our classmates and pitch our idea to the client.  I can’t wait to get more “real life” experience and create the best pr campaign!

Corporate Publishing – I will learn Adobe Indesign by creating posters, magazine covers, and cd covers. I am eager to test my creative skills and stretch myself in the elements of design – beyond just photography.

Intro to Fine Arts – this class is basically for fun and I am taking it pass/fail, but don’t think its too easy. We will discuss the Harlem Renaissance, Versailles, Heian Japan, Periclean Athens, Maya, European Romanticism and 9th Century Baghdad. I have always enjoyed the arts, specifically the performing arts, so I am excited to broaden my understanding in poetry, art, and architecture.

I am also working at RLF Communications in Greensboro. I have already interned in government and the nonprofit so I am excited to see what I think of an agency setting. While at RLF I will be working mainly with their client the International Civil Rights Center and Museum. It will be a new experience for me to work with a nonprofit client in an agency setting – but so far I love it!

This year still seems overwhelming to me, but I know I will learn and grow in a lot of ways. I look forward to updating my blog with some of my work and what I am gaining from both inside and outside of the classroom.

Leave a Reply

