Avon Walk for Breast Cancer

Every 3 minutes someone is diagnosed with breast cancer.

walkers parade during closing ceremonies

The Avon Walk for Breast Cancer– Charlotte was inspiring and challenging.
It was an unforgettable experience and I am so glad I did it. For the event in Charlotte we raised $2.3 million dollars with over 2,000 walkers.
The weekend consisted of walking 26.2 miles on Saturday and 13.1 miles on Sunday to raise money and awareness about breast cancer.
I saw God throughout the entire event. He helped me physically get through the 39 + mile walk. I saw His beauty in nature…the leaves changing colors, flowers blooming. I saw His love in people…the people that cheered for us and thanked us for walking, the survivors who shared their stories, the men and women walking, the youth volunteers.

halfway on day 1

I learned about myself and the reason we fight to end breast cancer. It is a disease that can destroy a person, family and friends no matter who they are. It is also something that can be stopped. We have the knowledge and abilities to end it and with the help of the walk, we have the resources. I am optimistic that I will live to see the end of breast cancer.
Some of my highlights:
  • seeing the sunrise on Sunday morning
  • meeting Brandi a woman walking for her best friend, a survivor of breast cancer
  • walking with Riley’s mom who has given of herself day after day and still chooses to give to others.
  • kids passing out pink lemonade on the route
  • picking flowers with Riley

sunrise on Sunday

Leave a Reply

