Reflecting on my internship at RLF Communications

This fall semester I interned twice a week at RLF Communications in downtown Greensboro.  This was my first experience at a PR agency and it was a great learning experience.

As an intern I was assigned to one main account, the International Civil Rights Center & Museum, because of my class work for the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum. Through social media, newsletter articles, e-mail pitches and press releases, I assisted in increasing the number of visitors to specific events and new exhibits.

I also learned 2 programs utilized in public relations: Cision and PR Trak. Using Cision, I created media lists for the Greensboro Partnership and Care One. PR Trak aided me in evaluating media coverage by providing monetary value for published articles.

Working at a small agency gave me the opportunity to try many new tasks – writing copy for advertisements, writing pitches,  creating social media content calendars – but also helped me hone my skills in researching and evaluating media coverage and writing press releases.   Although I worked on one main account, I was able to work with several different clients and most of the agency staff.

Two adventures I had the opportunity to take part in were a team building day at the N.C. State Fair and visiting Genuity Concepts marketing company.  As part of the team building day, we had an agency meeting to reflect on the year as it came to a close and discuss what the future entails. Then we traveled to the fair to enjoy each other’s company outside the office. We tried lots of fried food and adventured on several different rides. It was wonderful to interact with the staff members in a casual setting and be able to spend more time with each person that I may not interact directly with at work.

Several of the staff and interns went to Genuity Concepts to learn about the different marketing and promotional pieces available. I thoroughly enjoyed it because it got us thinking outside the box. We explored the show room of pens, mouse pads, custom wine labels, rainboots, watches, etc. with brand names and logos. We thought of different uses for things – such as an RLF holiday gift for our clients or what our clients could give to their clients.

My internship was a great time! I enjoyed everyone I worked with, the variety of projects and clients I was able to work with and learning about the workings of a small agency.

Leave a Reply

