My First Half Marathon

 

after the race with our medals

 

This weekend my friends Riley and Chelsey and I went to Disney World for the Disney Princess Half Marathon. It was my first half marathon and I was pumped! We signed up for this race in September, but had been planning on it for over a year. I can’t believe it is now over!

After my Avon Walk in October I completed a six week walk to run program from Women’s Health Magazine then I started training for the race!  I ran 3x/week and the longest run I completed before this weekend was 10 miles.

The running itself during the race was difficult for me. It was very hot and humid in Florida, even at 6am. In addition, the race was on concrete or roadways the entire time, and there were some hills (not expected for FL).

But the race was amazing! 17,000 women (and a few men) ran/walked in princess costumes. There were characters and music every mile and we ran through Magic Kingdom and Cinderella’s castle.  The best part was seeing all the supporters out cheering us on! Although I did not run as quickly as I hoped, it was still a great experience.

I never considered myself a runner until today. I am proud of this accomplishment and can’t wait to see where I’ll go next!

One thought on “My First Half Marathon

  1. Pingback: Try. Fail. Adjust. | Julie Smith

Leave a Reply

