Life after graduation

Since the momentous day of May 21 and receiving my diploma from Elon University, I have kept myself busy beyond applying and interviewing. I am living in Raleigh, but I hope to move to Charlotte soon, but I am pursuing opportunities in both cities.

As someone who got bored within a week of graduation, I have been volunteering with my church to keep myself occupied and out of my house. I am working on a website design for my church youth group and am also assisting the kindergarten class of Vacation Bible School. The boys are crazy, but at the end of the day, I have really enjoyed my time with them. One girl drew me a picture of a flower that said “God loves me. Do good. Do what God says,” and although she is only five, I feel like she is actually learning the important messages of VBS. Now I understand why several of my friends are teachers.

I also participated in the 2011 NC Triangle Race for the Cure. I absolutely love this race. Over 25,000 people participate  and the energy and support is great. Neighbors come out with sprinklers and water guns to cheer you on as you run. Not to mention great freebies from New Balance, WRAL, Ford, Kroger, Yoplait and great music. The survivors are inspiring, as are all the runners with their bibs celebrating/honoring/remembering someone close to them.

Members of "Walkers for Knockers" team at Race for the Cure 2011

In addition to volunteering and keeping up my running, I have made a scrapbook of my time at Elon. Now, to those of you who don’t men, I am NOT creative nor do I like arts and crafts. My roommates can attest to me being the last person to jump on board doing an activity that requires glue, paint or anything else. Although, I really enjoyed making a scrapbook. I guess it may have to do with that I love taking photos, so I like having a place to keep them.  As I was working on it, my mom reminded me how in Girl Scouts, scrapbooking with the only activity I ever liked during arts and crafts.

As for now, I am enjoying seeing my friends, volunteering and looking for a job. Big things are coming this summer and I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

