I’m Employed!

I am proud to say that I am employed and officially living in Charlotte!

I am the Media Relations Associate for Operation Christmas Child of Samaritan’s Purse. I am in charge of the Lower Midwest and Texas/Louisiana regions, but will be working in Charlotte. As a media relations associate I will be pitching stories to the media, creating email pitches and press releases and coordinating Family Day efforts for the Charlotte processing center. This may not sound like a lot, but trust me, I will stay busy for the next six months!

This week I had training in Boone with the 10 media associates that will be working around the country! We learned about the history of Operation Christmas Child, and all the projects of Samaritan’s Purse. We heard from people involved in all areas of Samaritan’s Purse and had the chance the walk through what Family Day will look like and process shoe boxes!  We also had fun hiking on the Blue Ridge Parkway and completing the ropes course. I absolutely loved getting to know the girls and sharing our stories and interests. I will be working with Kaley in the Charlotte office in addition to a couple of Church Relations Associates.

OCC media associates hiking at blue ridge parkway

I am in love with the mission of Operation Christmas Child because when I was 16 I had the opportunity to be part of a shoe box distribution in Serbia. I traveled with Providence Baptist Church and gave out shoe boxes and performed skits to tell children about the love of Christ. It was my first experience traveling internationally and I learned about poverty, sadness and darkness that affected the people in the country. Thankfully, we could bring hope and joy to their lives with by talking about God’s love for them. For some the children, the shoe boxes we gave them were the only gifts they will ever receive. It was a great trip for me and now I am excited to serve on a different scale with Operation Christmas Child.

Fun Facts about Operation Christmas Child:
• Over 8 million children received shoeboxes last year
• Since 1993, Operation Christmas Child has given over 86 million shoe boxes
• Operation Christmas Child has served children in over 130 countries

processing shoe boxes in Boone

Leave a Reply

