Balance is key

Over the last couple of weeks I have been trying to get involved in the Charlotte community beyond work. I attended a Charlotte Junior Chamber meeting and jumped at the chance to  volunteer for a prom that will be held for Levine Children’s Hospital patients (coming up on the 23rd), and I have signed up for a painting class using a LivingSocial deal. I have also been attending a couple of churches to try to find the best fit for me.

Besides being overwhelmed with the amount of opportunities in this city for a young woman who likes to stay busy, I have been adamant about working out after work. I just completed the Big Red Shoe 5K, benefitting the Ronald McDonald House of Charlotte and I am  running in the Charlotte Race for the Cure in 3 weeks.

I am reading Kerri Strug’s Landing On My Feet, and  she talks about the triangle she used during her gymnastics career  to keep her life balanced – training, school and home life. She says she is happy when all three elements are kept in balance. I think this is true for all of us – to obtain success and happiness we need to have balance. I know for me personally,  I need fulfillment in  work, exercise, social, and spiritual area of life for peace and happiness. My first week of work was boring because I would come home at 5pm and be bored with no one to talk to and nothing to do.

I am slowly learning my life balance as a young professional. I am getting involved, but don’t want to overcommit myself either. I want to meet new people and try new things, but don’t want to be exhausted all the time.

Leave a Reply

