I Run.

“So I run straight towards the goal with purpose in every step.” – 1 Cor. 9:26

At this point last year, I was not running a single minute of my life. But my friends had this crazy idea of running the Disney Princess Half Marathon in February and we did it. (More about that here). Since then, I have continued to run three times a week since that day, but never more than a 5k.

On Saturday Sept 10 I ran in the Big Red Shoe 5k for the Ronald McDonald House of Charlotte and I really enjoyed the course, atmosphere and crowd. I struggled with the actual running part of the race experience though. After being disappointed with how I performed, I started thinking about why I have kept up running and what running means to me.

Well besides the physical benefits of exercise, I enjoy pushing myself a little further and a little faster each time to see how I can do. I love being alone and my stress just melts away when I run because I focus solely one what I am doing in that moment – running.

When I started working for Operation Christmas Child, I met a lady named Carol. She is one of our administrative assistants and she was recently diagnosed with lung cancer. She still comes to work most days of the week and tries to maintain a full life outside of chemo. I can’t imagine the endurance required to work a job and battle cancer. Hearing her story just reminds me that health is a gift and I need to thankful for it every day.

Like most women, I have gone through phases of not liking my body- thinking my thighs are too big or whatever the case may be, but running makes me proud of my body and thankful that it can do all the things. I am blessed to have good health and am proud to say I run – no matter how slow or short my runs are.

“Set daily, monthly, and long term goals and dreams. Don’t ever be afraid to dream too big. Nothing is impossible. If you believe in yourself, you can achieve it.” –Nastia Liukin, USA, 2008 Olympic all-around champion

Leave a Reply

