To Move and Be Moved

When I was younger, I always told myself I would become a missionary and move to Africa and save all the children. As cliche as that sounds. I remember in sixth grade I participated in 30 Hour Famine through World Vision and my heart broke when I realized kids my age were starving. I have been blessed with the opportunity to travel to Europe quite a bit during my time at Elon and to participate in mission trips in Serbia, Russia and Puerto Rico. Since graduating, I have not been able to travel outside the United States and I feel that longing to get up and move. Saying that makes me feel selfish and spoiled, but this past year I have grown in my walk with Christ and I feel that when I travel or serve again, that I truly want to challenge myself and I am ready to answer God’s call to wherever that may take me.

As I listened to Manny, founder and CEO of Samaritan’s Feet, speak to the Junior Chamber on Tuesday. I felt my heart pulling again. I think I need a push to be moved and move others again. I don’t know what that looks like yet, but I think something is going to happen in 2012 to move me and to challenge me. I don’t know what God has in store, but I am excited to see where He leads me.

There is no real point to this post other than to say…I want to move! Who is with me?

 

 

Leave a Reply

