Be Generous

The last couple of weeks have been wonderful. I continue to learn and grow through Amway and just by living life.

At my church, we just completed a series on generosity and the importance of giving.  Although I believe it is important to give financially, I think it is just as important to give of yourself. Through Amway, I have seen the example of servant leadership. My mentor has not only gotten to know me and to understand what my love language is, but she has demonstrated it to me. It amazing how great it feels to know that someone cares enough about you to truly listen and take to hear what you share so that they can take action to show you.

Last weekend, I was able to surprise my roommate at her first marathon in D.C. Not only was planning the surprise trip to D.C. exciting, but it was wonderful because I knew how much it would be to her to know that I traveled the 7 hours just for her. Now, I was able to see some other friends along the way, but still. The purpose was to show my support for Riley as she ran 26.2 miles.

Psalm 16:11 says, ” You make known to me the path of life;  you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.” Now, if that verse doesn’t make you happy – I can’t help you there. When giving, it has to be joyful and from the heart. For me, that joy comes from the Lord. Remembering that God loves me and He loves every single person on this Earth, so I should then show love to every person I encounter.

I found this on Pinterest and I absolutely love it. It is so simple, and yet you can make a positive impact in the world just by being kind.  Now, not all of these really apply to the topic of giving, but taking simple steps of being kind to people you meet throughout your day is a good first step.

2648623.jpg

Leave a Reply

