Try. Fail. Adjust.

This weekend I went shopping (surprise, surprise) and bought some new work out gear to inspire me for my Disney Princess Half-Marathon in February! Several friends and I signed up to complete the magical race once again and I am super excited, especially since I have done the race previously (as seen in the 2011 blog post).

Last week, I learned about some food allergies I have and it has been a big life adjustment for me. And now, I am starting to think about how to eat properly and train for this race. Obviously, I have some time before the pressure is on, but I am attempting to get my body prepared by eating healthfully and right for my body and not over-doing it my work outs.

Now that I have completed 2 half-marathons, I have an idea of what to expect and how my body handles the training. So now it’s time to start adjusting. I am not saying I “failed” in my previous races, but every race is a learning opportunity of things to do better, do less of, or know for next time.

I have also learned about the power of visualizing and speaking positive affirmations to reach your goals, and I want to encorporate that into my workouts. I need to visualize myself completing the race how I want to and speak those goals over myself in order for them to come true. For example, if I had a time goal I would need to visualize myself crossing the finish line, lifting my arms in victory and looking at the time clock with my time goal. Then I would need to speak it over myself that I will complete the Disney Princess Half Marathon in under 2 hours and 30 minutes and will feel great.

Have you visualized your goals? Do you speak your goals to yourself daily? I challenge you to try it and see how it positively affects your outlook and your results!

Leave a Reply

