Living Solo

So….It’s been a while since I’ve blogged.

Let’s catch up. I’m 27 years old, still enjoying my job in the pr/marketing world, still running for Isabella’s Dream Team and still eating my fair share of chocolate.

Two weeks ago my roommate for the last 2.5 years, left me and got married. I love her and miss her so much. Mainly, because she was a great cook and we had a deal going where she made food and I ate it and cleaned up. Together we were fat and happy. Leading up to the wedding, I was excited at the idea of making the space my own, but now I realize just how much growing up I have left to do.

Adulting is hard. After the wedding I started cleaning, rearranging and buying furniture….okay confession I’ve procrastinated buying things like a coffee table. Then I realized that I have never lived alone and haven’t mastered the whole cooking thing. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy baking and am quite good at that, but cooking is a different animal. So after “cleaning out my pantry” (or eating all the crap I had left), I began to meal prep for the week,  grocery shop and actually make real food. My first attempt at making a new recipe went real well, so I wanted to share:

Baked Spaghetti

12 oz cooked spaghetti
12 oz marinara sauce
parmesean cheese
shredded mozzarella cheese
pepperoni (or other topping you prefer)

Preheat oven to 350. Place cooked spaghetti in an oven-safe baking dish. Cover with marina sauce. Top with parmesan cheese, a layer of pepperoni and plenty of mozzarella cheese. Bake approximately 20 minutes or until cheese is golden brown.

Somehow I’ve survived 2 weeks without someone to help me zip up dresses, decide what to wear when going out, and show me how to use the coffee pot. Let’s see what the next adventure holds….

Also open to ideas for names of this blog, so let me know.

 

Leave a Reply

