Don’t Wear Black When Running and 6 More Tips

This morning as I set out to run, I realize it was laundry day because all I had left was a black shirt to run in. Ugh. It is already sweltering hot and this black shirt will not help my case. Oh well. I put it on and head outside.

As I continue to train for the Novant Health Charlotte [1/2] Marathon, I wanted to share some of my running advice. Please note: I am not a trained professional, so follow at your own risk. 

  1. Don’t wear black when running outside. Especially in the summer because it’s hot and especially at night since then no one can see you (be safe people).
  2. Schedule your runs. Write in your calendar, commit a time to do it the night before or else you may not get it done or make excuses.
  3. With that said, give yourself grace. Life happens and sometimes the run doesn’t make it. Don’t beat yourself up over it. Do get back on schedule as soon as possible though. Don’t let 1 day mess-up become 3 days of not doing what you need to.
  4. Strength Train/cross train. It is so important to work out your muscles differently than simply running over and over again.
  5. Stretch/do yoga. As a former dancer and gymnast, flexibility comes easily to me, but I have noticed how my hips are really tight as I run, so I try to do yoga once a week and always stretch after any work out.
  6. Rest. Give your body a break. You are working hard and you need to allow your body to recover.
  7. Watch what you eat. If you are new to training for a race, or new to running, I highly recommend keeping a food journal to help you figure out what bests fuels your body. I figured out that me and tomato pasta sauce don’t mix when running is part of the equation.

 

Leave a Reply

